Lameness Trainer

Module 1 | Rules

Details about this module:

This module teaches the evaluation of forelimb lameness. Forelimb lameness manifests in asymmetry in the vertical movement of the head. You need to detect this asymmetry to detect lameness. You then have to relate the pattern to limb movement to determine which limb is lame.

In this module, you start by evaluating pronounced lameness. Once you can reliably do this, the game automatically adapts and sends you to the next difficulty level, where the lameness degree gets smaller. If you then struggle, the game will bump you back a level.

You receive feedback on the correctness of your evaluation for each horse.


Aim of the game: collect points while completing all 6 levels (and if you are keen, the bonus level 7) without losing your lives. If you lose nine lives, it is game over and you start from the beginning.

How it works

On each level, you have to assess:

     Whether the horse is lame or not

     If it is lame, which forelimb is affected

If you correctly assess 4 horses in a row, you jump up one level. If you incorrectly assess a horse, the penalties below apply. If you are unsure about an assessment, please additionally tick the 'not sure box' on the user interface.

Game interface

Below is the interface for module 1. Feedback and controls are on the left, your points, performance and levels are tracked on the right.


You score points for each successful evaluation depending on how often you review a clip and at which level you are: the more difficult the level, the more points you receive for a correct evaluation. Within each level, you always get two more points if you watch a clip just once, one more point if you watch the clip just twice and the default number of points if you watch the clip more often than this.


Penalties apply if you pass an incorrect verdict:

1 x wrong: → Points wiped for level

2 x wrong: → Points wiped for level

                   → Bumped back 1 level

                   → One life lost


You start the game with 9 lives. Each life is worth 10 points at the end of  the game, so you start with 90 points 'in the bag'. If you lose a life, you  lose 10 of these points. Repeating a previous level scores you 5 grace points.

© 2014 Sandra Starke, Gregory Miles, Stephen May